Siena Season Awards

Siena handed out their end of season awards tonight at the year end banquet. Ryan Rossiter won the MVP and Rebounder of the Year awards, which should come as no surprise to anyone familiar with the program. Ryan led the MAAC in both scoring, 18.7 ppg, and rebound, 13.2 rpg, while winning MAAC Player of the Year honors. Ryan finished second nationally in rebounding this season, behind only Morehead St’s Kenneth Faried, and set Siena’s career rebounding record with 1,151.


O.D. Anosike picked up a much deserved Most Improved Player Award. OD more than doubled his scoring average, improving his freshman year average of 2.7 to a healthy 8.9 ppg. He also doubled his rebounding total of 3.4 to a healthy 6.8 rebounds per game. OD goes into his junior year as a key cog to the Saints success in 2011-12.


Rakeem Brookins collected his first of what is likely to be several Siena awards. Rakeem picked up Newcomer of the Year honors after a very strong Freshman campaign. Rahk averaged 9 pts, 4.3 assists, and 1.6 steals per game while running the point for the Saints. Those numbers compare very well to another former Saint’s freshman campaign, 7.4 pts, 4.9 assists, and 1.7 steals. Who was that Saint? None other than Ronald Moore, one of key players in the most successful era of Siena Basketball. The future certainly looks bright for Rahk and we look forward to watching him play and develop over the next three years.


Here is the complete list of winners, Congratulations to all:


Dan Cunha Defensive Player of the Year: Owen Wignot

Billy Harrell Rebounder Award: Ryan Rossiter
Jim Sullivan Most Improved Player: O.D. Anosike
Siena Newcomer Award: Rakeem Brookins
Siena Hustle Award: Clarence Jackson
Rev. Benjamin Kuhn Student-Athlete Award: Steven Priestley
Doc Marcelle MVP: Ryan Rossiter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *