Franklin Named To Final PR Roster

Former Siena Saint Alex Franklin has been named to the final roster of the Puerto Rican National Team announced Monday night. Franklin was one of 12 players chosen to compete in the FIBA Olympic Qualifier tourney that starts next Monday (July 2nd) in Caracas, Venezuela. Former Siena Saint Edwin Ubiles was one of three players along with  point guard Filiberto Rivera and forward Angel “Piwi” Garcia that did not make the final roster cut. Reportedly Ubiles chose to focus on playing in the NBA summer league and will likely return to the roster if they qualify for the Olympics.

Franklin and the Puerto Rican Team will compete in the FIBA Qualifier as one of 12 teams looking to move on to the 2012 Olympic Games in London. The top three teams will qualify for one of those coveted spots.

Final Roster Puerto Rican National Team

Carlos Arroyo (Besiktas, Turkey)
Nathan Peavy (Artland Dragons, Germany)
Renaldo Balkman (New York Knicks,NBA)
Jose Juan Barea (Minnesota Timberwolves, NBA)
Andres Rodriguez (Capitanes de Arecibo, BSN)
Mike Rosario (Florida Gators, NCAA)
Alex Franklin (Indios de Mayaguez, BSN, Siena)
David Huertas (Piratas de Quebradillas, BSN)
Alex Galindo (Brujos de Guayama, BSN)
Ricky Sanchez (Indios de Mayaguez, BSN)
Peter John Ramos (Piratas de Quebradilas)
Daniel Santiago (Capitanes de Arecibo, BSN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *