Final 4 Game 1

The final 4 is here, and its all 1 seeds. We kick it off with the winner of the Pre 80s bracket Fred Shear facing off against the winner of the 90s bracket Doremus Bennerman. Fred Shear won the craziest matchup we’ve had to this point against Bob Hermann with over 600 votes cast to claim the Pre 80s title. Doremus Bennerman won a close one against Marcus Faison to claim the 90s championship. Here’s a look at the matchup:

Fred Shear (1) played for Siena from 1970 to 1973. When looking at his accomplishments it is important to remember that they came in a time when players were only eligible to play for three years, played fewer games in a season and had no 3-point shot.  His 1400 points ranks 12th all time at Siena. Besides being an avid scorer he was also a force on the boards. His 658 rebounds ranks 15th all time. During the 1970-1971 season he had 282 rebounds for an amazing average of 11.3 per game. Fred averaged 20.3 points per game for his career and was twice named AP College Division All American Honorable Mention.

Doremus Bennerman (1): Bennerman played for the Saints from 1990-1994. He is one of only two 2000 point scorers in Siena history, totaling 2,109 in his four years. He was a member of the 1994 Saints team that went to the NIT final four and secured third place with a win over Kansas St. It was during that game that Bennerman had the game of his career, scoring 51 points, the most ever by a Saint in a game. During his career he topped the 30 point mark on three other occasions, scoring 36 each time. His senior season scoring output of 858 is tops in Saints history, a 26 ppg average. His ability to score from behind the arc helped bolster his numbers. His 228 career three point field goals is third all-time. Bennerman was also a capable passer. He finished his career with 577 assists, a 4.6 apg average, 4th all-time.

Final Four Game One

  • Fred Shear (Pre 80s Champ) (84%, 103 Votes)
  • Doremus Bennerman (90s Champ) (16%, 19 Votes)

Total Voters: 122

Loading ... Loading ...

Polls will remain open until 11:59pm on the 31rst.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *